pcRUSH.com
You Click, We Rush
  1-888-205-7777  |   Go To pcRUSH.comHOME  |   WISH LIST  |   View pcRUSH.com Shopping CartVIEW CART  
CUSTOMER SERVICE  |   MY ACCOUNT  |   ORDER STATUS  |   ABOUT US
GSA Federal, State, Local & Education Sales
Original HP Supplies Finder
 
Categories
IBM Solutions Showcase
Back To School Deals

Manufacturer Showcase

  • Olympus
  • Avery Dennison
  • Logitech
  • D-Link
  • Kodak
  • Symantec
  • Intel
  • Epson
  • Lexmark
  • Kingston Technology
 
Home > Reviews > Netbooks & Subnotebooks > Sony VAIO VPCW211AX/P 10.1" LED Netbook - Atom 1.66 GHz, N450 - Pink Reviews

Product Reviews for Sony VAIO VPCW211AX/P 10.1" LED Netbook - Atom 1.66 GHz, N450 - Pink

Availability
Not Available
Your Price
$384.02

Share and Bookmark:
  • delicious
  • Google
  • faves
  • Yahoo Bookmarks
  • Yahoo MyWeb
  • Live
  • myAOL
  • Furl
  • Mister Wong
Page  1  2 
Product Reviews Summary ( Powered by PowerReviews.com )
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
(based on 8 reviews)
Already own it? Write a Review
 
Defective Product and horrible customer support.
By WVComputerGuyVerified Reviewer from Charleston, WV on 5/27/2010

After another 34 minutes on the phone with Sony I was advised to post this here. It is really about customer service not the computer. I spent a non-trivial amount of time typing and fact checking this letter. I offered to email it to them. I offered to post it privately on my web page so they could simply download it. I virtually begged them to view the original. I wanted to make sure that facts such as dates did not get broken up. If things seem incomplete I have hacked up the document to remove personal information and order id's etc. Dear Sony Employee, At the present time I am somewhat displeased with Sony. This is due to difficulties and delays receiving this product combined with seemingly misleading information. It has been greatly compounded by the fact that this system apparently had manufacturing defects. While I understand that there may be occasional manufacturing defects the fact that I am once again without this system greatly compounds my frustration. This order was placed on January 27th 2010. It was listed as a Valentine’s Day Special. I placed this order as a Valentine’s Day gift to my new wife so that she could assist with my collegiate studies. At the time the estimated shipping date was 1/28/2010. I do understand that estimated ship dates are just that, estimates. I proceeded to follow this order through your online system. Early on the online system reported that the shipping date would be delayed until 2/1/2010 which seemed reasonable. By 2/3/2010 I proceeded to email the support department and inquired as to the status of my order since I had not received any shipping information. At that time I was informed that the order had once again been delayed, a shipment was expected on 2/4/2010 and I was assured that it would be shipped soon thereafter. A couple of days later on 2/8/2010 I again emailed customer support and requested a more honest and accurate shipping date. The next day 2/9/2010 I was informed that a shipment was expected 2/10/2010 and once again was assured that it would ship shortly thereafter. This time the information was accurate. The tracking information indicated the shipping process began on 2/10/2010. So the computer was shipped TWO weeks after the original estimate. The shipping delays were not appreciated however this would not have been nearly as upsetting if not for the following facts. After the online system reported the updated ship date of 2/1/2010 it never changed to indicate further delays even though it was another nine day until the actual shipment. I may have quietly accepted this error however my trust and personal distaste for the company grew quickly as I observed that the shopping area of your website was CONSTANTLY updated with estimated shipping dates that indicated someone who purchased a system that day could expect the system to ship the next day. To any sane person this would indicate that this model was in stock. If the model was in stock where was mine? If it was not in stock and indeed was suffering length delays why then did your site not indicate these later dates? As compared to my friends and family I am considered very “tech savvy� and have assisted well over a dozen other people when purchasing systems online. This includes reviewing system specifications, comparing prices and literally sitting beside them to assist with online ordering. I have seen other companies delay an order multiple times. When that happens it is not uncommon for a company to add or upgrade something to appease the customer. This includes things such as doubling the memory which in this case may have amounted to a $30 upgrade or adding a free “gift� like a high performance memory card. I have even seen extra accessories such as a spare charger or battery. I have seen these perks even when the customer was kept accurately informed. In fact I cannot remember a time where an online tracking system was never updated to indicate additional delays. In my experience other systems may be behind a day or two but how would you explain nine (9) days. I have NEVER needed to contact the company repeatedly just to obtain accurate, or in this case inaccurate, information. That is pathetic. The lack of customer service does not end here. This was advertised as a Valentine’s Day special, I placed the order sufficiently early, in fact nearly two and a half weeks for a system that was expected to ship the next day. The order was shipped on February 10th via FedEx. A respectable company should realize with Valentine’s Day approaching there may be delays. I received this package on 2/17/2010, once again February 17th. If you have forgotten Valentine’s Day is on the 14th. I was left empty handed, without a gift for my new wife. On such a cheap computer not providing a free gift is understandable; NOT upgrading the shipping was TOTALLY INEXCUSABLE. The system was received in good condition and we have enjoyed many of the well thought out design features such as keyboard layout and the size of the touchpad. The computer was well taken care of however after a brief period the decorative coating over the power light wore off. My wife accepted this even though the system was intended to be “pretty.� It is a girly pink with engraving, the unsightly green light which is now exposed is NOT cute. If you have intended to destroy my repeat business you nearly succeeded but the computer helped mitigate some of my distaste in Sony until the battery FELL OFF. The battery casing split slightly making it impossible to re-install it. It is difficult to enjoy the great 8 hour battery life when she is forced to keep it plugged in. Following the most recent defect. I promptly contacted technical support and was supplied an RMA number along with a box to return it in. I informed the technician that it would probably be two weeks before we would be able to do without the computer. In reality it was very close to a full month. The computer was purchased to be used. Its long battery life was a key consideration. It has been a real nuisance. We needed this computer and were not able to send it off for repairs, for a month she has been forced to keep it plugged in. We had selected this computer for the freedom of being unencumbered from wires for an entire business day. While Sony may not make any attempt to satisfy an upset customer I do request that this letter receives a reply in some form so that I know it has been read.

 
Great Yet Pricy Netbook
By AnonymousVerified Reviewer from Marshfield, WI on 4/8/2010

This beautiful netbook is THE BEST LAPTOP I HAVE EVER HAD! (emphasis on the never) This is my first Sony netbook that I purchased nearly a month ago, and so far, the only problems I have faced are unreliability at times when you are running pretty heavy applications. Also, the biggest con is the fact that this netbook comes with Windows 7 Starter edition. This edition is almost the same as the home premium but the only difference is the fact that you can't change the wallpaper in any way whatsoever (the default one is blue and pretty boring) as well as run the Media Center (which personally aren't big enough reasons to not buy this laptop). In addition to that, this laptop also is on the high end when it comes to price. After all the accessories and service plans, this netbook ended up costing me near $600 dollars. But then again, for Sony quality, that is NOTHING! I have always had hp or compaq laptops and they are horrid machines that look good, but on the inside, have absolutely NO quality. I have made the mistake of buying more than 9 compaq and hp laptops and have learned my lesson. Hewlett Packard is a company that deliberately makes laptops that get problems so you can buy more from them. Anyways, back to this netbook. The design is flawless, however, if you want to be picky, some light does seep through the VAIO logo on the front of the netbook. That is pretty much it. Take my advice and BUY this netbook. You will be the happiest Sony customer EVER!

 
*** STYLISH, RESPONSIVE, AND PORTABLE ***
By RUAPRINCESSVerified Reviewer from SUNSHINE STATE- FLORIDA on 3/1/2010

This is the newest model (W211AX) of Sony's Netbooks and has a extended battery life. While others may complain of the battery- I like the fact that it elevates the netbook up towards you. Depending on the surfing you do- you may have a bit less battery life than advertised. I ordered the pink Vaio and couldn't be more pleased. It was everything I expected it to be and then some. The Track pad is reasonably sized and much larger than most. The screen clarity is amazing. My only complaint is where the speakers are situated for the volume. I simply resolved this issue on my own and use my ipod head phones when listening to sound. To the lower right of screen you may also adjust zoom level. Your options are 100, 125, and 150. If you do increase the zoom level- You do loose a bit of viewing and must scroll from side to side. The keyboard buttons are a bit elevated and makes it easier for typing. The only other downfall that I could say would be that the netbook only comes with Windows 7 Starter. With this program starter version you are unable to change desktop background. Bummer... I love that I can install my SD card and download my photos too. Perfect for web surfing, downloading pics, typing, emails, etc. AMAZING LITTLE NETBOOK!!!!!!!! SONY CONTINUES TO IMPROVE THEIR APPEARANCE, MODELS INTERIOR, AND STAND BY THE SONY NAME WITH EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!!!!

 
*** STYLISH, RESPONSIVE, AND PORTABLE ***
By AnonymousVerified Reviewer from SUNSHINE STATE- FLORIDA on 3/1/2010

This is the newest model (W211AX) of Sony's Netbooks and has a extended battery life. While others may complain of the battery- I like the fact that it elevates the netbook up towards you. Depending on the surfing you do- you may have a bit less battery life than advertised. I ordered the pink Vaio and couldn't be more pleased. It was everything I expected it to be and then some. The Track pad is reasonably sized and much larger than most. The screen clarity is amazing. My only complaint is where the speakers are situated for the volume. I simply resolved this issue on my own and use my ipod head phones when listening to sound. To the lower right of screen you may also adjust zoom level. Your options are 100, 125, and 150. If you do increase the zoom level- You do loose a bit of viewing and must scroll from side to side. The keyboard buttons are a bit elevated and makes it easier for typing. The only other downfall that I could say would be that the netbook only comes with Windows 7 Starter. With this program starter version you are unable to change desktop background. Bummer... I love that I can install my SD card and download my photos too. Perfect for web surfing, downloading pics, typing, emails, etc.AMAZING LITTLE NETBOOK!!!!!!!!SONY CONTINUES TO IMPROVE THEIR APPEARANCE, MODELS INTERIOR, AND STAND BY THE SONY NAME WITH EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!!!!

 
Keyboard shortcomings, no 5GHz wifi, sound poor
By AnonymousVerified Reviewer from Irvine, CA on 2/21/2010

Love Sony products, but on this one they screwed a few things up. For a touch typist, the right shift key is almost useless it is so small. Second issue on many of the newer Sony notebooks is that they went cheap on the WiFi and used a chipset which doesn't support 5GHz which means 2.4GHz devices like cordless phones interfere (mine ironically is a Sony!). My older Sony had both 2.4GHz and 5GHz. Sony spend another $2 on a mini WiFi board that supports both. Sound quality is poor, with completely inadequate volume. Sure, you can put your ear up to the keyboard, but come on ! Sony are you listening ? Considered returning 2 Sony laptops just bought because of WiFi issues.

Page  1  2 
 



 
Contact Us
pcRUSH Promotions
Return Policy
Term and Conditions
Technical Support
Product Availability
Sales Tax Information
Shipping Info
International Orders
Method of Payment
Card Authorization Form
Product Reviews
Login / Register
Account Setting
Order Status
Order History
Cancel Order
Wish Lists
RMA Request
About Us
pcRUSH.COM Advantage
Affiliates
Privacy Policy
Site Security
Press Releases
Store Showcase
pcRUSH.com is top rated for customer service BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site BBB Accredited Business D&B Power Profiles NexTag Seller Shopper Approved
 
 
Contact Us
By Phone
1-888-205-7777 Weekdays
6am-5pm PST - Sales
8am-5pm PST - Support
By Mail
1325 E El Segundo Blvd.
El Segundo, CA 90245
Sign-up for newsletter
Copyrightⓒ 2014  www.pcRUSH.com  All Rights Reserved.   1-888-205-7777    Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy